Friday, May 06, 2016

Getting Things Done - The Art of Stress-free productivity - Book Review

Getting Things done is a book written by Productivity pundit David Allen who is an internationally recognized author whose most of  the works are based on organizational productivity. Getting Things done ( or GTD as it is called) is a methodology that aims to make life better  by teaching you things that help you in organizing your tasks well. It's a fact that in this fast moving world,  where we rat race and compete with each other in this life, we often tend to leave a void behind. This book aims to fill in this void. We somehow fail to understand certain minute things that will not only help grow as an organized individual but also as a better person.  As David Allen calls it, this GTD methodology will  drain out all the stress from your sophisticated life and GTD will only make life easier. Each Chapter of this book covers various aspects that will help you in managing your tasks better.



Through these chapters, David Allen has made a powerful impact. You might find it boring going through most of the topics but trust me it can change your life or at least make it less stressful if you religiously follow the GTD.  This book is for people who crib that they have many things to do but unfortunately, they do not have much time and prioritizing the important tasks  leaves behind an apprehension that something important is being missed.  Trust me many of us might have come across such a phase. The author has given many useful points for all who belong to this league. This can make life easier. The book gives an overview of the process of how to get work in a better way, how to implement  the work in a better way and it provides better insights into it.  This book helps us to get rid of our organizational issues that we come across in our day to day life. The  best part about the book is that it will make you think about your productivity, the techniques are easy and  explained in a better way that can be easily understood by all. This book offers  powerful and practical strategies for increasing your organisation, efficiency and creativity. 

I highly recommend this book.  Never forget to carry a notebook with you when you read it. There are many interesting points that you might wish to note that might help you.  For those who are used to working in a fast paced environment then the techniques mentioned in the book might come handy for you. 

Stay Organized and Focussed and may you lead a stress-free life with maximum productivity. 

About David Allen 
David Allen is an author, consultant, international lecturer, Founder and Chairman of the David Allen Company. The David Allen Company is a productivity training and consulting company that provides services designed to increase performance, capacity and aligned execution. They count among their clients some of the world’s most prestigious corporations, including over 40% of Fortune 100 companies.

David Allen is widely recognized as the world’s leading authority on personal and organizational productivity. His 30 years of pioneering research, coaching and education of some of the world’s highest-performing professionals has earned him Forbes’ recognition as one of the “Top five executive coaches” in the United States, and as one of the “Top 100 thought leaders” by Leadership Magazine. 
Did you like this post? Get The Solitary Writers updates via Facebook or Twitter, better yet, subscribe to it via RSS Feed. It’s easy, and free! Comments are just another way to let me know how you feel.Don't forget to comment.

Sunday, January 24, 2016

The Bestseller she wrote - Book Review





Author: Ravi Subramanian
ISBN: 978-93-85152-38-2
Genre: Romance / Drama / Mystery
Publisher: Westland Book
No. Of pages: 390


Ravi Subramanian writing a book of different genre was a surprise element for most of his fans. For people who are used to reading his thriller, this was a different thing. Imagine the Numero Uno Thriller writer writing a book on Love, Betrayal and Redemption. Well, Well! That's the by line of this book names - The Bestseller she wrote. Another fascinating text that amazed me was the - Soon to be a motion picture written at the bottom of the cover page.

The book is about a famous writer Aditya Kapoor whose books are bestsellers. He had a great fan following His family comprised of a beautiful wife. His life was something that usually people dream for. He had everything, almost everything that anyone would ask for. The first encounter of the writer and the rebel, defiant Shreya Kaushik, an ambitious student happens at a packed auditorium at the IIM where the writer was invited as a chief guest. An argument between both of them annoys Aditya but later reading his books Shreya turns out to be a big fan of his. Aditya falls in love with her and has an extra marital affair with her. Another character that I loved was that of Aditya’s wife Maya.
Many believe that this character of Aditya is loosely based on many writers life. After reading the initial few chapters, I thought that it was Chetan Bhagat's life story. But few more elements don't support it.

The language is simple; it flows well and could be a good read for many. I was actually disappointed a bit. I have been a great fan of Ravi Subramanian's book. The style also resembled me of a so called famous writer whom I don’t want to name.  I liked the way Shreya Kaushik’s character is portrayed.  She seems to me like a new generation girl, young, smart and headstrong.  It is an undoubtedly a good plot and at times it was predictable. The bestseller she wrote is an interesting read. I am a great fan of his Thriller books and admire his writings. God is a gamer is a book of his that impressed me. The book can be read at one go while travelling. I give it 3/5.

About the Author

Ravi Subramanian, an alumnus of IIM Bangalore, has spent two decades working his way up the ladder of power in the amazingly exciting and adrenaline-pumping world of global banks in India. It is but natural that his stories are set against the backdrop of the financial services industry. In 2008, his debut novel, If God Was a Banker, won the Golden Quill Reader's Choice Award. He won the Economist Crossword Book Award in 2012 for The Incredible Banker and the Crossword Book Award in 2013 for The Bankster. His most recent novel is Bankerupt. He lives in Mumbai with his wife, Dharini and daughter, Anusha.

I am reviewing ‘The Bestseller She Wrote’ by Ravi Subramanian as a part of the biggest Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!


Monday, October 12, 2015

Shayaree-e-Zindagi - Poetry for Life by J.S. Mishra - Book Review

Shayaree-e-Zindagi - Poetry for Life by J.S. Mishra - Book Review

In the Foreword of the book - Shayaree - e - Zindagi, Javed Akthar Sahab says that Poetry is an eternal gift in its most natural,  most powerful and appealing format.  Poetry is something that gives an inner peace during the time of crisis for most of us who are connoisseurs of art. Perhaps that's what soothes us when we are down or low. I seldom write poetries but whenever I write its full of emotions.  That's the beauty of a poem. It may be short, but it reflects the state of our mind. 

Shayaree-e-Zindagi has a tagline called Poetry for Life.  Yes, indeed! This book is a compilation of Shayrees , couplets and poetries written by famous  Urdu and Hindi poets. It is based on the different elements of life.  The  couplets are based on the elements of life such as Beauty, Longing, Relationships, Love, Promise, Waiting, Dream, Pain, Grief, Memory, Destination,  Courage, Leadership, Self Pride, Philosophy of Love, Spiritualism and  other couplets.  J.S Mishra, the master  behind the book is a bureaucrat and is a poetry lover too. Most of his works are commendable and he has a deep liking for poems especially Hindi. 

Shayaree-e-Zindagi - Poetry for Life has been divided into seventeen chapters and the couplets constituting the chapters have been given in Devanagari as well as in English Transliteration.  This is done basically for the readers who find it difficult to recite it in the Devanagari script so that they can enjoy the beauty of the couplet. Also,  J.S Mishra has taken efforts to translate the couplets into English for the Non-Hindi  Poetry fans. 
I read the book and the collection of the Urdu/ Hindi shayree's is awesome. I liked it.
I am sharing few of them here.

"Husn kee subah ik shikst-e-jameel
Husn kee Shaam kaamraanee hai,
Ye kuchh afsaan-e-takhyyul hai,
Kucchh haqueeqat kee tarjumaanee hai" - Majaz Lakjnawi

Translation 
"Morning  of the beauty may be a lovely failure,
Evening of the beauty if success,
This is partly an imaginary story,
And partly an interpretation of reality"
----
"Gairon kee baat chhodiye gairon  sey kya milaa,
Apnon ney  kya diyaa hamein, apnon se kya milaa" - Kaifi Azmi

Translation
"Leave aside talking about others, what have others given,
What did our own give us, what did we get from them."

For many more interesting ones, do read the book. 

The book features poems of elite Urdu/ Hindi poets like Kaifi Aazmi, Majaz Lakhnawi, Ghalib, Jigar Moradabadi, Riyaz Khairabadi, Hasrat Mohani, Zauq, Faiz, Firaq, Nida Fazli, Abdul Hameed Adam and many more.

This is a must read for all the Urdu, Hindi Poetry fans out here. Do read it.

About J.S Mishra.
An Engineering graduate from IIT Roorkee and an Indian Administrative Service officer, J.S. Mishra has been widely acclaimed as a competent administrator, an enabling leader, an effective writer, and a passionate poet.He has published five collections of Hindi poems and five acclaimed worldwide books. His poems have equally been praised and welcomed by both lovers of literature and common readers alike. He is the recipient of numerous state honours, citations and certificates for his scholarly and meritorous achievements. 


Saturday, June 20, 2015

The Wedding Trousseau and Other Short Stories - Review



Title - The Wedding Trousseau and  Other Short Stories
Author -Ankita Sharma
Publisher - Humming Words Publishers
Genres - Anthology, multiple genres
Year - 2015
No. of Pages - 128

***

The Wedding Trousseau and  Other Short Stories is a collection of short stories that represents different elements of life. They are easy to connect and relate. These stories remind us of different phases that we go or relate in our life. Ankita Sharma has crafted the stories in such a way that  all the stories are  intriguing and her knack of connecting with the reader is marvelous. Through this anthology she has  infused and provoked some thoughts that the readers could ponder.

***

Aforementioned these collection of short stories represents different gamut of emotions ranging from love, fear, animosity, aggression and so on. Each story  will make you wear your thinking caps. Some stories were witty, at its humorous best while some were thought provoking!  The best part about each story is that it gives an important message. For instance, The Pink Card  talks about a lady prying into the personal space of the protagonist who happens to be at no fault. All that glitters is not gold , it can be silver too! ;) 

We talk big about equality in our country but there still are divides that happen that distinguish people on the basis of statuses. One More Bite highlights this fact.

Leaves talk about the story of a young boy who has a hard time making pple understand something different from their old perceptions.

Curse will make you relate to stories that you have been hearing  around your neighborhood. A story of a son and a mother who happen to curse his wife for the reasons known! To know the reason , read the book. I'm sure you must have heard such stories nearby!

Courtesy ,  The Solitary Mound, I Forgive You are light stories that deal with emotions and are philosophical too! 

The Wedding Trousseau talks about the life of a girl who dreams about her marriage and who is excited about her life after marriage. But dreams remain dreams when she learns that her marriage life is dry and sad. A busy husband who has no time for his wife and an affection craving wife are few stories that we all have been seeing in movies. Such stories do happen in reality too.

The Site Visit, is a spooky story of a young professional who wants to rent out a home only to find out the truth later about the owners of the house. Indeed Spine chilling!

The Fresh Stock  is a take on adoptions. People who adopt children at orphanages should be kind enough to adopt kids not on the basis of their color or size. Kids are the virtual representation of God and accept them no matter what. This story talks about the same.

The best of the  lot is 'Just Perfect' . This is something that I loved. It gives a very good message. No one is perfect in Life. Learn to be happy with little things that we have. It just gives a perfect end to the collection.

"Perfection keeps shifting like a mirage. We are obsessed with anything that is perfect but the standards shift every minute; they are not fixed. We refuse to accept and agree with anything that fails to fit inside our moulds of excellence. "

If you  are planning to chill over the weekend then this is the right book.  Ankita Sharma is adept and a very skillful writer who knows how to play with emotions. The  job of a writer is to make a reader visualize the characters in front of their eyes and I think that Ankita has done her job well. The language and the narration is simple and it establishes a good connection among the readers. The best part  is that every story has some value to offer and  the readers could relate with it. I highly recommend this book. These are stories that could be narrated to your kids. Better gift them this book!

The stories suggest that the writer is an observer. Anyone who pens stories that touches the heart and that talks about emotions need to be a good observer. Only a good observer can produce such realistic stories that have deep impact on the minds of the readers. 

I give 4/5 for the stories that  are not new but for the easy connect that it has to offer. Readers can relate to it and share these stories with their loved ones. 

This is a perfect debut for any writer and after reader this I would want to read a complete novel from her. I am sure that day would arrive soon.

About the  Author
Ankita Sharma is an entrepreneur based in Faridabad. She is passionate  about reading, writing and sketching. Her sketch works have appeared on the cover pages of few titles. She loves nature and is very fond of animals. She blogs at www.hummingwords.blogspot.in.


Saturday, June 06, 2015

Exit Point - Book Review




Title - Exit Point
By line - On the Internet no one knows you are Dead
Author -Anil Goel
Publisher - Leadstart Publishing Pvt Ltd
Genres - Thriller, mystery, dark 
Year - 2015
No. of Pages - 507

***

Exit Point, written by Anil Goel is an IT thriller book that revolves around the dark mysterious online world. This is the writer's second book and his first book - Release 2.0 was of the same genre. This thriller writer knows how to put things together and especially  when everyone knows that writing thriller is the most difficult thing to do , he makes it look so easy. The story revolves around multiple cities across the globe across  different timelines. It introduces us to different characters who mark an imprint on your mind. One such character is Alok, a techie from India who rules the plot!

***

It takes us to the mysterious dark online world where the writer has tried his best to make us ponder on the online identity of people. The byline of the book reads - on the internet no one knows  you are dead! Indeed true it is! It contains too many characters but one thing you should know that major portion of the book covers the mystery revolving around the death of Megan Baxter , an intelligent  teenage girl from Australia. The case investigating officer seeks help of Alok, a techie from India, who plays an important role in unleashing several clues and gets them close! Several events such as dead sharks along the coast of Bondi beach, Megan Baxter's  death, Rashid Chacha's murder by Mr Baxter ( Megan's father) and many more twists across the tale only makes the story intriguing. Anil Goel definitely has the knack of keeping his readers glued. But somehow at some places I felt that the plot was being dragged unnecessarily. There are too many characters and all the characters have done their bit perfectly. However this book being vast, one requires lots of patience and time but its worth it.  It plunges deep into the online world and Alok's character is brilliantly potrayed. It took me several sittings to complete this book - curse my busy timeline and last minute vacation plans.

This story has got too many elements that will enlighten the reader in you.  What links all the events in this book and how the tech genius Alok helps in resolving the mystery is something that should be looked for! People who know technology and internet very well can get something out of it as they can relate to  the different things mentioned in this book by one of the main character. This is a  very good thriller book and I recommend this book to all the thriller lovers. Planning a vacation? Take this book along with you. It could be a very good travel companion especially if you are planning for a train journey!  

I would give 4/5 stars for this book. This book would transport you to a completely different world, a world where mystery overpowers everything. To know more about the book  you should definitely read Exit Point.


About the Author
Anil Goel is a Mumbai raised, IT personal who wrote 2.0 the first IT thriller of India. To him the computer is the panacea for all challenges and he uses it as the fabric to tailor his tales. He has earned the moniker of Prophet Of Doom by Deccan Herald and can be reached at http://www.facebook.com/anilgoel.

Saturday, March 28, 2015

Story of Tublu - A Book Review


Title - Story of Tublu
By line - An Amazing Journey called Life
Author - Jahid Akhtar
Publisher - LiFi Publications
Genres - Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Coming-of-Age Fiction
Year - 2015
No. of Pages - 204

***
Life is the sum of all the choices that we make. It comes up with lots of surprises and memories that are  associated with it. This is a story of love, relationship, friendship and an amazing journey called Life. It gives a glimpse of the life of  Tublu - from childhood to boyhood to  manhood!

***

One fine day a  father son duo of Bipin and Tanmay alias Tublu, displaced by a mighty Brahmaputra flood lose their livelihood and house; land at the Mr. Sharma's place. The Sharma's being kind and benevolent, provide them a way of life.Being their only ray of hope, the Sharma's - Mr. Sharma, Mrs. Sharma, Paplu and Sujata Sharma alias Maina get closer to Bipin and his son. An introvert Tublu develops geniune affection, a secret crush for Maina at a tender age. As the story paces up,  his feelings grow stronger. This takes you through the different phases of Tublu's life - School , College, Degree college and Work. 

Tublu, a brilliant student,  excels at different stages of his life, be it his - college, exams or job. He gets an handsome job and during this process he befriends several people.  His campus life would make you nostalgic as I believe everyone of you must have gone through that phase. But even then at every moment, memories of Maina haunts him time and again. Unable to digest the fact about Maina's relationship with Ikram, her college senior, Tublu wishes for her happiness. As the story sails slowly like a cruise on an ocean,  Mr. Sharma develops lung cancer and  he has a wish to get her daughter Maina married. Out of haste, they get Maina married to Suraj, a professor at the Delhi University, who kicks the bucket soon. Maina, pregnant with Suraj's child,  moves to Berlin as a part of her company assignment for a long term basis. 

Tublo's life revolves around different cities like Bangalore, Chennai, Mumbai, Berlin and New Jersey and he never stops thinking about Maina. His longings and cravings for her is beautifully expressed in form of words.The story ends with Tublu getting married to his childhood crush that brings to the closure of the book. 

***

Story telling is an art. Jahid Akhtar seems to have mastered this art of story teller. This first time Author has this unique knack of story telling that is a key to entering a Readers mind. The greatest skill of a writer is to make a reader imagine instead of reading. The characters should wander around in front of the readers eyes and Jahid has done this convincingly. Simplicity is something that connects a story to  its reader. The language and  narration is  very simple! It flows neat and smooth. The closure of the book would definitely remind you of the young Tublu with his father at Mr. Sharma's gates.

There are many people who enter our life and there are only few who remain forever with us in this journey of life.  Such special ones are like jewels, a precious one! Its natural to preserve them. This book has love, relationship, friendship, longings, drama, college humor, cigarettes  and almost everything that you are looking for!

This gift could be a perfect gift for someone whom you love, an old friend from school or college or anyone who has marked an impact in your life!

I give 4/5 for this book - for its simplicity and easy connect that it has to offers. It touches the heart and I could almost visualize the characters and I completed the book at one sitting!

About the Author

Jahid Akhtar is a software developer by profession. He was born and brought up in Assam and resides in Bangalore with his wife Anjali and their little daughter, Jia. Jahid enjoys writing about some unforgettable moments, in his blog titled Flashbacks.


Sunday, November 02, 2014

God is a Gamer - Book Review


Title: God Is A Gamer
Author: Ravi Subramanian
Genre: Thriller/Fiction
Number of pages: 324
Publisher: Penguin Books India
ISBN-10: 0143421395

ISBN-13: 978-0143421399


Review  - #NotASpoiler


'God is a Gamer' is the latest offering from Ravi Subramanian, the Numero Uno Thriller writer of India. As far as the book is concerned, I would like to say that the writer has not disappointed me.

The Story revolves around the lives of different individuals around different locations - Washington DC, New York, Mumbai, Delhi, Goa etc. Based out of multiple locations are multiple individuals who form the basic skeleton of the book. This book boasts of numerous characters that appear for a short duration but have completely fulfilled their task. The writer has not only made the characters connect with the readers but also ensured that the reader doesn't get bored. There are surprising elements and twists every now and then. The story sails just like a ship on the Atlantic Ocean - Calm and Composed. Lol on your couch, grab a bowl of pop corns and read this book! At one point, when the prime ministers  warns the Finance Minister   not to recommend his favorites for the post of RBI Governor and at some point of time there is an assassination of a  US senator who also happens to be a close aide of the President. At other side, the story exposes a drug scandal at Goa which introduces the union of two prime protagonists - Varun and Tanya, whose love affair gets steamy as the story progresses. The good thing about the writer is that he has tried his best to educate the readers about different concepts and terminologies. This book is endorsed as the 'first Bitcoin thriller'. Many of us like me must have left wondering - what the heck is this Bitcoin? Not to worry! Ravi Subramanian has gone miles and even cared to explain Bitcoins.  

Monday, July 08, 2013

My Stroke of Luck - Book review



Author - Vijay Santhanam

Category - Inspiration

Pages - 231

Publication - Hay House

'My Stroke of Luck' is written by Vijay Santhanam, who has also co-authored 2 books before this with Shyam Balasubramanium. 'My Stroke of Luck' is categorized in inspirational book category. This book mentions about Vijay's battle with stroke and how he helped himself recover post-stroke. Vijay worked as a Senior Manager in BP. At 41, Vijay suffered from Stroke because of which the right side of his body was paralyzed. He received enormous support in form of his guiding angel - his wife Kainaz and his friends and family. They basically made sure that he received quality treatment. Vijay's carotid artery had a clot as a result it resulted in limited supply of Oxygen to his brain. This resulted in a Stroke attack. Vijay has also mentioned the symptoms and his battle with stroke in the initial few chapters. He couldn't talk and all his body movements were restricted because of stroke. This journey of recovery was a very difficult, frustrating and rather a painful one. He had to undergo several therapies to ensure that his recovery was smooth and fine. This book also mentions about Vijay's interests and his love for Cricket and the God of Cricket - Sachin Tendulkar. His will power and his determination to get back to normalcy is worth learning. He talks about how he had to start from Alphabets and how difficult it was to get back to learning basics. He mentions about how he experimented with certain things and events to analyse his logical and analytical skills. He wrote some thesis on cricket and later on that turned out to be a book co-authored with Shyam B. Post-stroke, after some months he gets back to work and later on learns that his organization is going through a rough patch. It mentions about his various trips during those time of distress which helped him. Sachin Tendulkar served as a motivating factor in his recovery. One definitely needs to read this book. This book is a compilation of Vijay's struggle during the recovery period. His never-say-die attitude helped him in his recovery. Not everyone is rich to afford high quality treatments and such therapies that Vijay has undergone. One needs to be fit and fine to make sure that they follow a healthy life. The language used here is simple enough to easily connect with people. Stroke had transformed his life upside down and this book also talks about how he managed life post stroke. I have tried to keep this review short and crisp as this being a non-fiction, I wish the readers read and get inspired from this book. Never give up if you have the will power and determination to prove it. Roads would be rocky and there would be difficult times ahead and you would have to undergo serious trouble even at times when you don't expect such things. Road to recovery would be difficult and all that you need is patience. This inspiring tale of Vijay's life definitely has something that everyone should read. Vijay has also discussed about his upcoming books which would be solely written by him. 'A Stroke of Luck' - straight from Vijay's heart, his struggles to get back to a normal life.
Do read and thank you Blogadda.com for this wonderful book.

This review is a part of the biggest Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!

Do check Dr Jill Bolte Taylorts TED video of her amazing 8 years struggle to recovery post- stroke.


The Solitary Writer
About the Author:
The Solitary Writer is a blog which started as a hobby.Here you will find stories, poems, satirical posts, humour, photography and almost everything. This blog is the alter ego of a Technical guy who loves to be called as the Solitary Writer. Others call him Ste. He works as a Senior Quality Analyst in a leading Organisation and loves to break the codes and he likes to  do things differently. Did you like this post? Get The Solitary Writers updates via Facebook or Twitter, better yet, subscribe to it via RSS Feed. It’s easy, and free!Also you can discuss in the Forum. Comments are just another way to let me know how you feel.Don't forget to comment.

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Alchemy 2 - Book Review




Imprint Tranquebar Press
 Format Paperback  
Extent 246pp
  Pub date Nov-12
Rs 295
ISBN 9789382618034
Edited by  Sheba Karim
Genre Erotica
Anthology


‘Alchemy, the Tranquebar book of Erotic short stories 2’ has been edited by Sheba Karim, popular for her adult novels. Skunk Girl was one such novel which brought her to limelight. Apart from that, she has won several awards and few of her stories have been nominated for Pushcart Prize. Alchemy is an anthology of erotic short stories from different authors who have strived hard to present a wide gamut of emotions in their stories ranging from pain, pleasure, fantasy, cravings etc.

The stories are well crafted which clearly aims to depict the modern society - attraction, homosexuality, sodomy, infidelity, sexual exploitations etc. The set of short stories belongs to different genres and each one of them is unique. There is love, romance, and melancholy and moreover it’s erotic. Erotica is not just about sex or something that highlights sex. They are an integral part of a story; an ingredient when used appropriately can bring life to your story. I read the stories and I am flabbergasted at the attempts of each writer to bring life to their story. This book promises to take you to an intimate ride, full of sex; complexities, lust, desire and thirst. You would witness the sexual exploitations where the protagonists tread through the sexual fantasies and their desires. The stories are intense whether it be the sexual attraction of a man towards his maid, couples making under the bright sun and a constantly nagging little niece, a periscope which intrigues- presenting a vivid account of people in the surroundings, a young boy's sexual awakening in a cinema bathroom, a homosexual account of a medical student who cherishes company of three men - men who fulfil his insatiable sexual urges, the life of a man who finds his lost love in a slut while nursing his broken marriage.

Each story has something to say. Some are outrageously erotic, while some of them are too beautiful, poignant to be precise. I read one of the stories written by Gudiya called 'Clay'. It takes to a virtual journey of a young couple who meet every afternoon at the guys place to make out. A little imp in form of a young kid, his niece constantly nags and troubles him, a source of interruption as they busy indulge in exploring themselves. This happens time and again and the poor guy loses his cool. The baby, nicknamed Fish soon finds a new friend in form of Neharika, her Uncle Vidu’s love interest. The story is too good and the best part of it is that it makes sure that  you are glued to it. Another story talks about the sexual awakening of a young boy who goes for a movie with his Cousin Brother. I loved the smooth narrative; it was striking. I would rate it as one of the best story in that book. It is clean, though not erotic, but it speaks about a young boy’s journey as he is sexually exploited by a man in the cinema toilet. The man makes use of the little boy's innocence to satisfy his transient sexual urge. The other story I would like to mention is an outrageously, disgracefully erotic story which talks about the journey of a 27 yr old homo-sexual medical student who loves men. He finds his love interest in Nirmal, Sunit and Lucky. I could not believe how one person could write something intense as this. It was expressive, no doubts. It contains various sexual jargons especially the one where the protagonists converse in Hindi. That reflects true face of India minus the homosexuality bit. I appreciate the writer's zest in coming up with something as intense and gross as that. Gross, cheap - are the words which best describes this particular story. There is one more story which talks about a young couple who use abandoned apartments as a place to have sex. In an isolated place, they make out only to know that someday the abandoned apartments collapse and they find many people like them who indulged in such sexual activities.  The first story of the book talks about the sexual fantasies of a post modern Nepali man who fantasizes his maid Sumati. He is sexually attracted to his maid and I loved the way he has expressed his emotions and feelings. This story is  full of heavy set of  words. I loved the adjectives he used to describe the beauty of his maid. A GRE/TOEFL student could well make use of the words if he/she is in pursuit of new words. I believe that those words actually savored the story and got life into it, although I would say that it was not the best opening for a quality book like Alchemy. To keep it short, Alchemy is a collection of well crafted stories representing different   entities such as pain, pleasure, lust, love etc. Sheba has done a marvelous job as an Editor and of course, her story speaks it out. She gives a perfect end to the anthology with a beautiful, poignant story of couples nursing a damaged marriage. A beloved wife, sad and tattered after a unbearable shock owing to a miscarriage. The man satisfies his thirst from a slut masqueraded under the label of an escort. Brilliant! In short it was neat and clean. Some were soft, cute, and sweet and brought smile to my face and some were gross,disturbing and outrageously erotic as aforementioned. A good book for all book lovers who want to try a different genre. Erotica lovers should enjoy this book. 

 Rating 3/5


This review is a part of the Book Reviews Program at BlogAdda.com . Participate now to get free books!


Did you like this post? Get The Solitary Writers updates via Facebook or Twitter, better yet, subscribe to it via RSS Feed. It’s easy, and free!Also you can discuss in the Forum.You can find the forum tab below the header Comments are just another way to let me know how you feel.Don't forget to comment.